BJP announces Yeddyrurappa as party’s CM candidate for Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018

Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) national chief Amit Shah, on Friday, confirmed former Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa’s name as the party’s chief ministerial candidate for the next year’s assembly elections in the Karnataka.

During interaction with reporters, Shah said that Karnataka Assembly election will be fought under Yeddyrurappa’s leadership. Adding to this he also said that Vijay Rupani will be party’s CM candidate in Gujarat Assembly elections. However the party has not yet decided its chief ministerial candidate for Himachal Pradesh Assembly election 2017.

The Karnataka unit has been facing a factional fight with a group headed by former deputy chief minister K S Eshwarappa targeting Yeddyurappa’s leadership. Commenting on this Shah said he would visit the state soon. The party had recently taken action against some leaders, suspected to be behind the internal wrangling.

When asked about whether Rupani will be party’s CM candidate Shah said, “He is already the chief minister. What does it mean that he will be the chief ministerial face…”