Congress wins in state’s twin assembly by-elections

The ruling Congress party on Tuesday retained their two assembly constituencies Nanjangud and Gundlupet in Karnataka in assembly by-elections. In the prestigious Nanjangud constituency, V. Srinivas Prasad, who had thrown a challenge to Mr. Siddaramaiah by resigning from the Assembly and joining the BJP, was humbled in the by-polls in Nanjangud. Mr. Prasad lost to Congress candidate Kalale Keshavamurthy by a margin of 21,334 votes.

Read: Karnataka Minister’s Son accused of corruption gets vigilance post

In Gundlupet constituency, Mohan Kumari alias Geetha of the Congress won the assembly by election by margin of 10,877 voters. The election was held on April 9. In Gundlupet, out of the 1,74,955 votes the Congress candidate Geetha pulled 90,260 votes and BJP’s Niranjankumar got 79,383 votes. While seven other candidates including Independents shred the remaining votes.

Read: BJP training party cadres for Karnataka Assembly Election 2018

Loss in the by-elections is considered as the huge setback for the BJP as the Karnataka Assembly election are expected to be held in month of December next year. The fiercely contested by-elections were a straight fight between the Congress and the BJP after JD(S) chose to stay out of the electoral battle from both the constituencies.